Europa World: The Europa World Year Book online Routledge -- Taylor & Francis group
Constitution and Government Economic Affairs

Regional and International Co-operation

Argentina: Regional and International Co-operation

Argentina is a member of the Organization of American States, the Inter-American Development Bank, the Latin American Integration Association and of MERCOSUR (Mercado Común del Sur). In 2004 Argentina was one of 12 countries that were signatories to the agreement, signed in Cusco, Peru, creating the South American Community of Nations (Comunidad Sudamericana de Naciones, which was renamed the Union of South American Nations—Unión de Naciones Suramericanas, UNASUR, in 2007), intended to promote greater regional economic integration; however, Argentina suspended its membership of UNASUR in April 2018. The country is also a member of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States.

Argentina was a founder member of the United Nations in 1945. As a contracting party to the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, Argentina joined the World Trade Organization on its establishment in 1995. The country is a member of the Group of 15 and the Group of 20. Argentina became an observer member of the Pacific Alliance (Alianza del Pacífico) in 2016.

Citation: Regional and International Co-operation (Argentina), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. Retrieved 27 March 2019 from

Constitution and Government Economic Affairs

Back to Top

Please note, this site uses web standards that your browser does not support.
See help for further information.